Read Russia

The Read Russia Prize is the only Russian award that recognizes outstanding translations of works of Russian literature into foreign languages. The Read Russia Prize was established in 2011 by the Institute for Literary Translation, an autonomous nonprofit organization. The competition is conducted biennially with support from the Federal Agency for Press and Mass Communication (Rospechat’) and the Boris N. Yeltsin Presidential Center. The prize is awarded to a translator (or group of translators) for outstanding translations of prose and poetry works from Russian into a foreign language and published by a foreign publisher during the previous two years.


The Read Russia Prize aims to:

·         popularize works of Russian literature,

·         encourage foreign translators who translate Russian literature into other languages,

·         encourage foreign publishers who publish translations of Russian literature, and

·         strengthen and develop cultural ties between Russia and other countries.


Prize winners in each category are the translator(s) and the publisher that released the book. Winners receive special award certificates and medallions as well as monetary awards. Publishers receive a grant to cover expenses for the translation of another work of Russian literature.

Members of the Read Russia Prize jury are leading translators, scholars, and literary critics.    

Members of the Read Russia Prize’s board of trustees are well-known Russian government, cultural, and public figures: Petr Aven, Naina Yeltsina, Mikhail Piotrovskii, Viacheslav Nikonov, Kirill Razlogov, Mikhail Seslavinskii, Natalia Solzhenitsyna, and Vladimir Spivakov.

Candidates for the Read Russia Prize may be nominated by publishers; professional associations; educational, cultural, and academic organizations; as well as individuals, including the translators themselves.


Winners of the Read Russia Prize

Category First Session
Second Session
Third Session
Fourth Session
Nineteenth-Century Classic Russian Literature Víctor Gallego Ballesteros, Spain, for his translation of Lev Tolstoy’s novel Anna Karenina. Publisher: Alba. Alejandro Ariel Gonzales, Argentina, for his translation of Fyodor Dostoevsky’s novella The Double. Publisher: Eterna Cadencia. Joaquín Fernández-Valdés (Spain) for his translation of Ivan Turgenev’s Fathers and Sons. Publisher: Alba Marta Sánchez-Nieves and Alba Editorial for Leo Tolstoy’s Sevastopol Sketches (Spain)
Twentieth-Century Russian Literature (works written before 1990) John Elsworth, Great Britain, for his translation of Andrei Bely’s novel Petersburg. Publisher: Pushkin Press. Alexander Nitzberg, Germany-Austria, for his translation of Mikhail Bulgakov’s novel Master and Margarita. Publisher: Galiani Berlin. Selma Ancira (Mexico) for her translation of stories by twentieth-century writers (Tsvetaeva, Pasternak, Blok, Gumilev, Mandelstam, Bunin, Bulgakov, and Berberova) titled Paisaje caprichoso de la literatura rusa. Publisher: Fondo de Cultura Económica Anne Coldefy-Faucard in cooperation with Geneviève Johannet and Fayard publishing house for Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn’s April 1917 (France)
Contemporary Russian Literature (works written after 1990) Hélène Henry-Safier, France, for her translation of Dmitrii Bykov’s Pasternak. Publisher: Fayard. Marian Schwartz, United States, for her translation of Leonid Yuzefovich’s novel Harlequin’s Costume. Publisher: Glagoslav Publications. Lisa Hayden (USA) for her translation of Eugene Vodolazkin’s Laurus. Publisher: Oneworld Publications Oliver Ready and Dedalus Europe for Vladimir Sharov’s The Rehearsals (UK)
Poetry Alessandro Niero, Italy, for his translation of Dmitrii Prigov’s Thirty Three Texts. Publisher: Terra Ferma. Liu Wenfei, China, for his translation of poetry by Alexander Pushkin. Publisher: China Yuhang Publishing House. Claudia Scandura (Italy) for her translation of Sergei Gandlevsky’s Rust and Yellow. Poems of 1980-2011. Publisher: Gattomerlino Kiril Kadiysky and Nov Zlatorog Publishing House for Fyodor Tyutchev’s Selected Poems (Bulgaria)

For more information, please, contact the Organizing Committee: 23, Bolshaya Polyanka St., bld.3, Moscow 119180, Russian Federation. Phone: +7-495-229-75-89, e-mail: